The TAB Melbourne Cup is world’s greatest greyhound race!

First run in 1956 for the princely sum of £500, the 2019 edition of the race will carry $630,000.

But it is not prize money that defines the TAB Melbourne Cup. The Cup is the race that trainers across the country – and increasingly, across the world – want to win. It’s honour roll boasts some of the sport’s greatest sprinters, including eight Victorian and five Australian Greyhounds of the Year as well as six Victorian and three Australian Hall of Famers – and with more waiting in the wings.

The legacy of winning a TAB Melbourne Cup goes beyond Cup night. For the greyhound, a breeding career is all but ensured. For the owners and trainers, a career defining moment that many can only dream of.

TAB Melbourne Cup night is the culmination of three weeks of outstanding greyhound racing. Final night will feature 12 races combining for more than $1,000,000 in prize money, and with nine feature finals it is greyhound racing’s showcase event.

While the action on the track is hot, there’s plenty of fun and excitement off it. There will be food trucks, live music, roving entertainment and stacks of giveaways, plus one lucky fan will spin the Sandown Super Wheel for a chance to win $1,000,000 cash!

Entry to all meetings at Sandown Park is free, so we’ll see you at Sandown Park for the latest instalment of the world’s greatest greyhound race!

Click here for TAB Melbourne Cup Conditions of Entry
Click here for current Exemption Race winners

A History of the TAB Melbourne Cup:

  • 1956 – First Melbourne Cup staged at Sandown Park on the grass track over 565 yards under handicap conditions worth £500
  • 1962 – Race worth £2000; race won by Saskagay, the first female to win the race
  • 1964 – A sand track is installed, resulting in the race distance being reduced to 555 yards
  • 1966 – First Melbourne Cup not conducted under handicap conditions; Cheltenham Lass wins the event after finishing second in 1965
  • 1967 – Neville Ballinger trains the Cup quinella with Swan Opal and Dollar Hunter
  • 1970 – Chris’ Dandy wins the Melbourne Cup for trainer Alex Kay, the fourth consecutive winner from New South Wales
  • 1972 – Gold Grotto wins against a field often considered one of the best ever assembled to line up in a Melbourne Cup starting at the shortest price favourite ever.
  • 1973 – Race reduced to 513 metres
  • 1974 – New Zealand-bred Kwik Metal upstages locals by claiming the 1974 Melbourne Cup after being bought for $30 as a pup
  • 1975 – Prize money increases to $11,500 to the winner; Dynamic Dean is later crowned the 1975 Greyhound of the Year, the first Melbourne Cup winner to receive the honour
  • 1978 – Prize money increased to $35,000 to the winner; Hollywood star Robert Stack presents trophy
  • 1979 – Hollywood starlet Elke Sommer presents trophy
  • 1980 – Sandown gives away a silver Mercedes to celebrate 25th running of the event; Greg Norman presents the Cup
  • 1986 – Race distance reduced to 511 metres following Sandown Park track reconstruction
  • 1990 – Prize money increased to $40,000 to the winner
  • 1991 – Prize money increased to $50,000 to the winner
  • 1992 – Master Giant wins the Cup, becoming the fourth consecutive winner to take out the Shepparton Cup-Melbourne Cup double
  • 1995 – Prize money increased to $80,000 to the winner; race distance increased to 515m following construction of new Sandown circuit
  • 1996 – Prize money increased to $100,000 to the winner
  • 1998 – Rapid Journey adds the Melbourne Cup to his Adelaide Cup, Perth Cup, Golden Easter Egg, National Sprint Championship and Topgun wins
  • 1999 – Kennelmates fill the trifecta, Kantarn Bale wins the Cup
  • 2002 – Prize money increased to $140,000 to the winner
  • 2004 – Prize money increased to $150,000 to the winner
  • 2005 – Closing Argument wins the 50th running of the Cup; Bonshaw Boy completes the quinella for trainer Cameron Taylor
  • 2006 – Betty’s Angel completes the Group 1 Sapphire Crown – Melbourne Cup double, setting a new race record of 29.51 in the process
  • 2008 – Prize money increased to $175,000 to the winner
  • 2009 – Lord Ducal, the least experienced runner in the final, registers 29.53 to give owner, trainer and breeder their biggest thrill in greyhound racing
  • 2010 – El Grand Senor scores his third Group 1 feature of 2010 with a dominant performance for owner/breeder Carolyn Jones; El Grand Senor would go on to claim Sandown Greyhound of the Year, Victorian Greyhound of the Year, and Australian Greyhound of the Year honours
  • 2011 – Dyna Tron secures Andrea Dailly her first Melbourne Cup victory in a race record 29.21 seconds; Dyna Tron was one of four finalists prepared by the Dailly kennel, with Graeme Bate also preparing three finalists to give leviathan owner/breeder Paul Wheeler seven finalists in the race.
  • 2011 – Prize money increased to $350,000 to the winner making the 2012 Melbourne Cup the richest greyhound race ever run
  • 2014 – Prize money increased to $420,000 to the winner
  • 2015 – Dyna Double One defeats Fernando Bale in a Cup for the ages in race record time of 29.17
  • 2016 – Ando’s Mac breaks a Cup drought for New South Wales
  • 2018 – Prize money increased to $435,000 to the winner with $1,000,000 to be won across the 12 race card. My Redeemer records a memorable victory for David Geall
  • 2019 – Whiskey Riot salutes by a half head in the tightest finish ever to a TAB Melbourne Cup. Just a length separates the first four over the line